Query Solution Time

Hello,

I am very new to Julia and JuMP. I am using CPLEX 12.8 together with my optimization problem.

Instead of using self-defined time function to capture the total time spent in the optimization process, is there a direct way to print out the total time (root+branch-and-cut) of CPLEX?

I try to use SolveTime() in MathOptInterface (v0.8.4) but it didn’t work.

When I typed MathOptInterface.SolveTime(), the result just give me

MathOptInterface.SolveTime().

And when I typed MathOptInterface.SolveTime(problem1), the error said

MethodError: no method matching MathOptInterface.SolveTime(::Model)
Closest candidates are:
MathOptInterface.SolveTime() at path

It would be nice if someone can show me how to correctly use the code since I also need to get the information of relative gap as well.

Thank you so much.

In MathOptInterface, you should use the get method to query different results from a model (or variable etc.). See the example in the docs where TerminationStatus is queried. SolveTime should work in the same way.

Thank you for your reply. However, I tried the example code, it gave me error again.

Here is what I typed

optimize!(problem1)
status = MOI.get(problem1, TerminationStatus())
total_time = MOI.get(problem1, SolveTime())

The error is like this:

UndefVarError: TerminationStatus not defined
UndefVarError: SolveTime not defined

I am pretty sure I declare the package already, but I don’t know why I can’t use the get method of MathOptInterface. Could you give me some insight? Thank you.

You need to prepend MOI..

MOI.get(model, MOI.SolveTime())

Oh that explains it!!! Thank you so much! Now I can move on…thank you!!

Hello sorry to bother again,

The SolveTime() works.

When I tried the same way to retrieve MIP relative gap, it gave me error again.

gap_info = MOI.get(model, MOI.RelativeGap())

The error message is

MethodError: no method matching get_relative_mip_gap(::CPLEX.Optimizer)
Closest candidates are: