Pyomo style "blocks" in JuMP

I’m new to Julia/JuMP and I’m wondering if Julia has any capability that replicates “blocks” in Pyomo? In other words the possibility to maintain separate namespaces within your model, and build hierarchical/compositional models from blocks. I’ve come across StructJuMP, but I don’t think this is quite what I’m looking for. Any help would be much appreciated!

2 Likes

The short answer is no.

The longer answer is that you are much freer to structure your code in different ways so that separate namespaces aren’t needed.

In particular, you can use anonymous variables, which aren’t “named” in the Pyomo sense.

Then you can do things like:

model = Model()
x = @variable(model, [1:5])
function foo_constraints(model, y)
    @constraint(model, 2 * y <= 1)
end
foo_constraints(model, x)

You’re also free to wrap variables/constraints/etc inside structs:

struct Block
    x::VariableRef
end
function Block(model::Model)
    x = @variable(model)
    return Block(x)
end

function block_constraint(block::Block)
    model = owner_model(block.x)
    @constraint(model, 2 * block.x <= 1)
end

model = Model()
block = Block(model)
block_constraint(block)

Do you have an example of what you’d like to do with blocks? As @odow described, we encourage users to rely on Julia’s existing constructs for composition, i.e., functions and structs.

Thanks for the responses, this is helpful. So I’m probably more worried about compositional models than namespaces, although that’s helpful to know about anonymous variables. Here’s a simple working example of the kind of thing I’d like to do - excuse the pyomo syntax!

import pyomo.environ as pyo

block_1 = pyo.Block()
block_1.x = pyo.Var(bounds=(0,3))
block_1.p = pyo.Param(initialize=5)

block_2 = pyo.Block()
block_2.x = pyo.Var(bounds=(2,5))
block_2.p = pyo.Param(initialize=-2)

block_3 = pyo.Block()
block_3.block_1 = block_1
block_3.block_2 = block_2

def expr(b):