Properties on expressions including call arguments, constructors or array indices

Hi there, I am new to the Julia community, but since a while I’ve been working on a package to enable painless interaction with COMSOL (commercial finite element software). It relies heavily on java’s reflection API to minimize boilerplate through getproperty(), setproperty(), etc. Off-topic, but wanted to say and compliment that I am amazed how much you can do with just a few lines of generic julia code.

Currently I am trying to get TAB completion to work to traverse the rather deep COMSOL data structures, but I run into the fact that propertynames() only gets called on variables and not on expressions including argument calls, constructors or array indices. In the latter cases, fieldnames() is run on the type of the expression.
This makes the functionallity in the use-case I imagine, less powerful. On the other hand, getproperty() does get hit as I expected, so the written code works fine, it is just the tab-completion to help write that code which is off.

This code shows the problem:

using REPL

struct Pet
    name
end

Base.propertynames(x::Pet) = (:surprise, fieldnames(typeof(x))...)
Base.getproperty(x::Pet, s::Symbol) = s == :surprise ? "You got it." : getfield(x, s)

# Use-cases 
propertynames(Pet("Fluffy"))  # returns (:surprise, :name)

mypet = Pet("Fluffy")     # tab-completion on "mypet.", works as I hoped
Pet("Fluffy")             # tab-completion on "Pet("Fluffy")." only returns .name (does not even call propertynames)
kennel = [mypet]          # tab-completion on "kennel[1]." only returns .name (does not even call propertynames)

mypet.surprise            # returns "You got it.", works as I hoped
Pet("Fluffy").surprise    # returns "You got it.", works as I hoped
kennel[1].surprise        # returns "You got it.", works as I hoped

# This helps to dive in deeper: