Projecting and interpolating data to a regular grid

I have (multiple) data on a regular latlon grid which I want to project with a Lambert conformal conic projection and interpolate to a regular grid. Is using the Proj4 and Interpolations packages an appropriate option or is there a more tailored alternative?

Would it be possible to provide some more details, some reference or some images illustrating your problem?

I am not an expert in Geodesy, just an interested user, and in the mock-up example below produced with Proj4.jl, I have tried to visualize your problem, probably in a wrong way, but hope it helps getting more feedback.

The left image is a regular Lat-Lon grid in WGS84 and the right image its transformation to North America Lambert conformal conic (LCC) X-Y coordinates.

It does not make immediate sense to define a regular grid on this output. What would be the application?

PS: from @joa-quim’s GMT grdproject reference provided, one may define a regular grid that fits inside the projected LCC irregular grid, then do an inverse projection and perform bicubic spline interpolation (ex: with Dierckx.jl Spline2D) using the available spatial data (ex: temperature T(X,Y)) in the original grid.

Yes, your example illustrates the first part well. The next step is to interpolate the data on the Lambert grid to a grid expanded by the vectors, say,
x = 1e6:1e4:2e6
y = 3e5:1e4:2e6
The aim is to match two datasets with different projections.

If you have a grid in geographical coordinates you can reproject that grid into Lcc and get regular cartesian grid in Lcc meters. Either GMT’s gdproject or GDAL gdalwarp let you do that.

2 Likes

Thanks. I will need to look further into these. Are there any Julia examples of using GMT.grdproject?

For GMT you would need to create a GMTgrid type. I’m sorry but cannot give a pointer to the docs because something screw in the documentation builder and the GMT docs are giving a 404 right now. Hope it recovers soon.