Programming with rich text (Jupyter notebooks or similar?) on remote servers

Hello,

I have been programming in Julia since 2020. I first used JupyterLab with IJulia.jl, and now I’m working with VSCode, still with IJulia.jl.

In this last case, I actually don’t like programming using the Julia extension and a pure Julia script, since I can’t write markdown text or equations, and I can’t keep the plots visible, even if I close and reopen it after months. Indeed, I usually code using Jupyter Notebooks.

I’m fine with that, but what I don’t like it that I have to install a python environment for that. I usually need to keep the simulation working on my remote machine while I turn off the ssh connection with VSCode. To do that, I need to start a manual Jupyter kernel under a tmux virtual terminal.

I was wondering if there exists a clever way to do that. I need something which is readable (a Julia script is not the case), which eventually keeps the plots displayed, which can remain in execution even if I disconnect to the remote server, and that eventually doesn’t require to installation of other packages like python. It is better if this can be run on VSCode, to take advantage of GitHub Copilot.

So, are there better options than Jupyter Notebooks?

what about

1 Like

Have you tried Pluto.jl? It is basically Jupyter but you don’t need a python environment. There is a big difference: in Jupyter, you run cells manually, whereas in Pluto the cells update automatically (changing one cell causes all dependent cells to recompute).

Yes I tried it a few times, but I have found any extension for VSCode. I really like VSCode, the way I can easily connect to remote servers, its git handling and its Copilot.

Pluto notebooks are valid Julia files, so technically, you could open the same notebook in Pluto and VSCode at the same time, use Pluto for basic development, and VSCode for Copilot and Git.