Private states in Julia modules

Hi,
I’m new to Julia, but with long strong background in object-oriented design. What I haven’t yet got my mind around is how to design a type with private state. An example might be an object containing a Dirty flag, indicating whether its state needs recalculating. Clients of the object are only interested in public aspects of this state, whereas the Dirty flag is only to signal internally whether the current values can be given straight to the user, or whether they must be recalculated first. The user shouldn’t be able to access this purely implementation information.

As a simple case example, I think it would help if someone could tell me how to design types and modules to implement a Wallet class. Wallet objects contain a certain amount of money which can be spent or credited, but the client cannot ask how much is in the Wallet - only ask to spend a certain amount of money or credit money to the Wallet. If there isn’t enough in the Wallet, the client gets to spend zero money. Can anyone help?

Thanks,
Niall.

Like in Python, there is no way to completely shield fields in objects from outside access. Instead this is done by convention, whereby internal fields are not part of the API (unless documented as such).

1 Like

The general consensus has been that accessing any field of a type makes for a tightly-coupled, non-OO interface. Using accessor functions to manage state provides flexible access and behavior controls, and overloading.

1 Like

Is that really the case? I can’t quite imagine that steering clear of internal fields purely by convention would protect my Wallet from corruption in an industrial setting. What about a client programmer who happens to find it convenient in some particular case to directly ‘top up’ the amount of money in the Wallet as a temporary workaround which then never gets corrected until the day it causes an embarrassing crash? Don’t we want some way to prevent that?