Print optimization problem using Ipopt

Hello all,

I am building a pretty complex optimization problem with the Ipopt solver (NLP). Since the results are not as I expected, I guess that I made a mistake in the model definition. Therefore, I would like to print out the optimization problem to get a better overview of the model.

I used a macro function to create the model and used print(model) within the function. When I run the function, Julia breaks down - I think because of the print(model) command.

Is there any other way to see the whole optimization problem printed in a nice way?

Thanks a lot for your help (and sorry if my question is confusing you - I am new to Julia)

When happens when you call print? Can you post the error?

Hey, so I tried to do the same for a linear problem with CPLEX at the same happens - either Julia breaks down (page is frozen) or it solves the problem and returns [Math Processing Error] and therefore doesn’t return the printed optimization problem.

The model structure of the linear version is the following:

function example(Set, Results, size::Int, limit::Int)

m = direct_model(CPLEX.Optimizer())

[at]variables(m, begin
…
end)

[at]expression(m, …)
[at]expression(m, …)
OBJ_VAR = [at]expression(m, …)

[at]constraints(m, begin
…
end)

[at]constraints(m, begin
…
end)

[at]objective(m, Max, OBJ_VAR)

optimize!(m)

print(m)

end

Then I call the function at a later point after having scaled the model and would expect to get the printed model displayed. What am I doing wrong?

Julia breaks down (page is frozen) or it solves the problem and returns [Math Processing Error]

How are you running the problem? Is this in IJulia? Where is the [Math Processing Error] coming from?

How big is your model (# of variables and constraints)?

Do you have a reproducible example?

Hello,

yes I am running the problem in IJulia in the Jupyter notebook.