Porting Python Global-Chem Knowledge Graph into Julia

Hi Y’all,

My name is Sul and I am a PhD Student at the University of Maryland, Baltimore. We are writing the molecules to common chemical names that the general public use and keeping a record for all of us to download and maintain together. We can all manage it as an open source governing community and use tools to declare whether these chemicals are safe or not for general use.

The back-end has no dependencies and I could see this being a 4 month long project (with testing) to port into Julia provided we have to learn the platform. A lot of folk use that more than the front-end. That would be 10 to 20K. This part has an range of 7K-11K downloads per month

The front-end has all all the layering from 1106 different software dependencies, all different restored scientific python packages that we absorbed. It would take a year or so to rewrite the code. That’s a decent amount of work 150K, since we would have to include other features from other software. This part has an range of 5K-7K downloads per month.

I think this would help link our two communities as long as we are using the same data regardless of the software implementation.

To finance this project, perhaps it would be best to go through the Google Summer of Code and have a julia engineer work with both communities including myself into porting or perhaps Julia would be interested in sponsoring through GitCoin.

Grant: Global-Chem: A Dictionary of Chemical Names to Molecules | Grants | Gitcoin

What does the community think?

Thank you,
-Sul

4 Likes

I‘ve read your post, went to the web site you cited, found the same wording, and, to be honest, understand nothing.