Pipeline : from raw data to fitted model?

Hello everyone!
I’m a novice in machine learning domain. I’m interested in basic ML pipeline from raw dataframe with missing values and so on to the trained model.
Is there any unified process of pipelining such methods as scalers, imputers, k-folds, one-hot encodings, ensembles of algorithms and grid search?
For instance, there is a class Pipeline in sklearn which does the job. Is there anything similar in Julia?

1 Like

Hi,

so far there is no unified process. MLJ.jl tries to solves this problem. However, it is still in an early stage. If you are familiar with scikit-learn, then you should have a look at ScikitLearn.jl which provides a similar interface and supports some algorithms that are implemented in pure Julia as well as some algorithms in Python.

1 Like

If you’re a novice it may be worth noting that it’s unlikely you will find (in any language) a completely unified approach to ML pipelines that readily incorporates any sort of training model you might throw at it. I’m assuming that kind of flexibility is what you’re aiming for when you mention something like ensemble learning. There are a lot of reasons for this. The first thing that comes to mind is that not all machine learning accepts dataframes. Some data requires large multidimensional arrays (images) or combinations of multiple types of data.

This is why Julia is a good place for ML. You really need a lot of little tools that can work together without sacrificing performance. The best way to get started is just doing some tutorials to familiarize yourself with the tools. I think JuliaComputing on github has some.

1 Like