Piecewise differential equations

Hello,

I am new at Julia, I would like to solve this system

\frac{dx}{dt} = k1y \
\frac{dy}{dt} = k2y+I

where k1 and k2 are constant parameters. however, I=0 when y,0 or Ky otherwise, where k is a constant value.

I followed the tutorial about ODE in The question is how it is possible to solve this piecewise differential equation in DifferentialEquations.jl however I did not find anything about piecewise functions

Thank in advance

Francisco

I

This is discussed here and I havenā€™t added it to the FAQ yet:

Dear Chris,

Thank you for your answer. I know that a discretecallback would be the solution of my problem. however I can realize how to program it because in all example, as I far as understood,the discontinuity is given by some time point and in my case the parameter change is due to the actual value of the function itself. Could you help me a bit please?

Thank you very much

Just use a ContinuousCallback that triggers when the zeroing happens. Or use the smoothed version of the operation. Iā€™ll see if I get a chance to do a detailed response sooner rather than later. I see you posted here as well:

Thank you very much, all your help would be very appreciated! :smile: I am not such a good programer, I am going to read about callback functions

Here is a (mildly) interesting example x''+x'+x=\pm p_1 where the sign of p_1 changes when a switching manifold is encountered at x=p_2. To make things more interesting, consider hysteresis in the switching manifold such that p_2\mapsto -p_2 whenever the switching manifold is crossed.

The code is relatively straightforward; the StaticArrays/SVector/MVector can be ignored, they are only for speed.

using OrdinaryDiffEq
using StaticArrays

f(x, p, t) = SVector(x[2], -x[2]-x[1]+p[1])  # x'' + x' + x = Ā±pā‚
h(u, t, integrator) = u[1]-integrator.p[2]  # switching surface x = Ā±pā‚‚;
g(integrator) = (integrator.p .= -integrator.p)  # impact map (pā‚, pā‚‚) = -(pā‚, pā‚‚)