Parallel Programming

I am new to parallel programming concept and I am trying to follow up with the basics but I have this problem
when I run
julia -t 4
using Base.Threads
nthreads()
The result is always 1 so I cannot start applying the concepts.
I tried it on my machine which is core I5 and on a remote server for high end computing platform.

Now that’s strange, I get 4 if I run that code. Which version of Julia are you running?

1 Like

juliathreads
this photo from remote server but its the same on my local machine

Are you launching Julia with the command julia --threads=4 / julia -t 4? For me this works as expected, although, I haven’t tested it on Julia 1.0.5.

1 Like

232g32df2g
I do not know why I receive this error

I think the option -t or --threads was introduced later. What you want to to is

export JULIA_NUM_THREADS=4
julia

i.e. define JULIA_NUM_THREADS as an environment variable, not in a running julia session. Otherwise I can also recommend to use a newer version of Julia, unless you really have to use 1.0.

1 Like
$ JULIA_NUM_THREADS=4 julia
               _
   _       _ _(_)_     |  Documentation: https://docs.julialang.org
  (_)     | (_) (_)    |
   _ _   _| |_  __ _   |  Type "?" for help, "]?" for Pkg help.
  | | | | | | |/ _` |  |
  | | |_| | | | (_| |  |  Version 1.7.2 (2022-02-06)
 _/ |\__'_|_|_|\__'_|  |  Fedora 36 build
|__/                   |

julia> Threads.nthreads()
1 Like

I think this works but I do not know the source of this segmentation fault!

This is because prior to v1.3 IO was not thread-safe. Another reason to update to the latest Julia version!

5 Likes

this works also thank you

#SBATCH -t 00:20:00
#SBATCH -N 4
#SBATCH -A tud01
#SBATCH -p DevQ
#SBATCH --mail-user=***********@**********
#SBATCH --mail-type=BEGIN,END
# This job's working directory
cd $SLURM_SUBMIT_DIR
module load julia/1.0.5
JULIA_NUM_THREADS=20 
julia /ichec/home/users/JuliaCodes/FCode_ICH.jl

do you think this is correct sequence?