Overlaying a grid of colored squares onto a map in GMT

Hello! I am new to Julia and GMT and am looking to see if it’s possible to overlay a grid (in which i define how large each box should be and the color it should be) on top of a plot of a certain region of the US.

function create_grid(region, grid_size)
    lon_min, lon_max, lat_min, lat_max = region
    lon_step = (lon_max - lon_min) / grid_size
    lat_step = (lat_max - lat_min) / grid_size

grid = [((lon_min + i*lon_step, lat_min + j*lat_step), 
        (lon_min + (i+1)*lon_step, lat_min + (j+1)*lat_step)) 
            for i in 0:(grid_size-1), j in 0:(grid_size-1)]
    return grid
end

I have written this function to define how large the “Squares” of the grid should be (it just contains the bottom left and top right points of each square). I have values for each square that would help me define what the color of the square should be. I thought that using grdimage (grdimage · GMT) could be helpful, but I’m not entirely sure how to create a .grd file that contains the boundary information of each square. Is it possible to define the grid by the vertices of each square? Thank you so much. I’ve attached a rough sketch of what I’d like for the plot to look like!

Update: we are now trying to use a method similar to what is described here and this is our code to do so:

function make_plot_with_grid()
    # Define the latitude and longitude of Hayward, CA
    hayward_lat = 37.6688
    hayward_lon = -122.0808

# Define the zoom level
    zoom_level = 0.5

# Calculate the region coordinates
    my_region = [hayward_lon - zoom_level, hayward_lon + zoom_level, hayward_lat - zoom_level, hayward_lat + zoom_level]
    lon_min, lon_max, lat_min, lat_max = my_region

grid_size = 20
    lon_step = (lon_max - lon_min) / grid_size
    lat_step = (lat_max - lat_min) / grid_size

fig = coast(region=my_region, proj=:Mercator, frame=:g, area=1000, land=:gray, water=:white)
    colors = zeros(grid_size, grid_size)