OrderedDict with duplicate items?

Hello!

Would anyone know if it is possible to make a slight rewrite, such that one can make a dict with duplicate entries in a specific order, initially set?

I see from this answer that one can make a duplicate key dict by using Base.ImmutableDict

But I also want to enforce a specific ordering.

Kind regards

Just out of curiosity, why do you want such a data structure?

I’m a Julia newbie, so 99.9% there are better ways to achieve what you want, but if I had to do something like that I would go with a vector of Pairs rather than an Ordered dict with duplicates, maybe something like this:

data = [Pair(:field1, 1), Pair(:field2, 2), Pair(:field1, 3)]
f(vec, field) = [x.second for x in vec if x.first==field]

Then f(data, :field1) returns [1, 3].

2 Likes

Hi!

It sounds very “weird” to do so I agree, the only reason for this is that I am using dicts in connection with LightXML to construct XML files. These files do not care about this when processed by a macine (it just finds the relevant tags), but since I want it to be human readable as well a specific ordering is of preference.

Thanks for your curiosity. I think using a vector of pairs rather than a dict could be a potential rewrite in the future, thanks for bringing it to my attention!

Kind regards

The DataStructures package has quite a few different types of Dicts, including sorted Multi dicts. But it’s not clear to me what kind of order you are looking for.

Hi!

I want this order:

By using immutable dict I get this:

So I want “SavePosDouble” to be at the top, instead of the bottom in this picture.

If I could do it with an “OrderedDict” it would be nice, but if you know any ways involving dicts which allows me to force an order and duplicate tags i.e. “parameter”, I would love to hear more

Kind regards