Optional variable declarations

There’s a discussion on Reddit that has some interesting ideas. It prompted me to ask, whether it might be possible to add the possibility of declaring a variable before use. This might give the following advantages:

• More correctness checking
var x::Int 
const var y::Int # May me assigned to only once
var z::Vector{Real}

x="test" # Error
x = 1
x = y # Error
y = 2
y = 3 # Error
z = 1.0 # Error
z = [1] # Error
  • Plausibly, it will assist the optimization, because compiler has the guarantee that the type will not change during the execution

• It enables method dispatch on function return type

var x::Vector
var y::(Vector,Matrix)

x=eig(A)  # Computes only eigenvalues
y=eig(A) # Computes both eigenvalues and eigenvectors

Would be interested to hear from the language experts whether this may be possible.

Thanks

This I really don’t like because it results in unreadable code.

But I am not an expert, this is just something which springs into my mind. Looking forward to this discussion, it promisses to be interesting…

How about

(var y::(Vector,Matrix))=svd(A)

Or even

y = eig(A)::(Vector,Matrix)

That one actually doesn’t even need variable declarations.

Actually this I like as an optional thing (didn’t mention this above).
Your solutions to make the code more readable are all acceptable and it is as always that unreadable code is always possible I guess. Lets see what real experts have to say.

You can already use local x::Int in a function, does this cover your needs?
const is currently not supported, but I’m pretty sure there is a github issue about that.

2 Likes

No, it doesn’t

julia> function foo()
  local x::Int
  x = 1.0
end

julia> foo()

It should give error instead.

No this works, x is an Int inside the function, but you are returning the RHS of the assigmnent, i.e. the literal 1.0.
In x = 1.0, this internally calls convert(Int, 1.0) and assigns the result to x.

4 Likes

Hmm, I guess you’re right