Optimizing using objective with an integral in it

I’m new to JuMP and I’d like to minimize a function that has an integral in it. Here’s an example f(y) = \int_0^y y dy - y. Of course, this is just f(y)=(1/2)y^2-y which is minimized at y=1, but this is just a minimal example as a step towards something more complicated.

I don’t know how to pass this objective f into the JuMP stuff. I believe I need to register f as a “user-defined nonlinear function”, but I don’t know how to do that. According to the docs, “in addition to this list of functions, it is possible to register custom user-defined nonlinear functions.” But I don’t see how to do that and it doesn’t appear to say anything else.

Here’s the code I tried so far. The error message was: Unexpected object #89 (of type var"#89#90" in nonlinear expression.

Thanks!

using QuadGK
f(y) = quadgk(x -> x, 0, y, rtol=1e-8)[1] - y
using JuMP

function example()
    model = Model(Ipopt.Optimizer)
    set_silent(model)
    @NLobjective(model, Min, f)
    optimize!(model)

return
end

example()
# ->  Unexpected object #89 (of type var"#89#90" in nonlinear expression.
1 Like

You should take a look at the JuMP documentation for some examples:

You need to define a variable @variable(model, y), you need to call the function f(y), and you’ll need to register the user-defined function register(model, :f, 1, f; autodiff = true).

I haven’t run the code so there might be a typo etc, but this should point you in the right direction:

function example()
    register(model, :f, 1, f; autodiff = true)
    set_silent(model)
    @variable(model, y)
    @NLobjective(model, Min, f(y))
    optimize!(model)
    return
end

Depending on what you are trying to do, you might also want to take a look at https://github.com/pulsipher/InfiniteOpt.jl.

3 Likes