Northwestern UofC and UIC julia bods

We’re considering coding a julia application in 2022. We’re based in streeterville ( by the MCA) and would like to chat with any NW’ers about julia. My wife is a NW alum. Anyone that can get to Streeterville is welcome.

We’re going to need some help in our application and prepared to pay for it.

We’ll probably use the same approach as we did in silicon valley ( real life NOT Pied Piper :-)) which was pretty successful.

we’re VERY interested in dagger.jl and Pluto.jl.

anyone interested email me at 1152dent gmail

1 Like

I’m a grad student at northwestern but not sure I know any other folks doing julia stuff there. What exactly are you planning to build?

Hi Logan
welcome. As to what we are doing, we’re writing a trading augmentation tool for our little partnership. The 1st one ( TONTINE) worked spectacularly in a volatile options and futures environment. That was written in Python. The next ( TONTINE2, see we lack imagination ) will be written in julia probably using dagger.jl and MAYBE using Pluto.jl as the IDE. Don’t panic it’s a complete rewrite so a blank sheet of paper.

The actual goal is to have an adaptive system which produces graphical representation of complex data sets to Tufte design rules.

1 Like

theakson,

Rather than doing imperative programming with Dagger.jl have you considered a declarative approach? The difference being, with declarative you tell the computer what you want done versus imperative’s step by step instructions.

The declarative approach looks at the request and generates optimal code (code-gen). Typically the declarative interface is the Structured Query Language (SQL). The authors of these various systems have spent decades building optimizations into the cost based optimizers, etc to make the declarative level interface very fast. You are unlikely to exceed these expert’s efforts unless you have hundreds of millions of dollars in R&D.