Non-affine transformations in Makie

I would like to help with adding non-affine transformations to Makie. However, I haven’t used Makie very much yet and also I am aware that this is a fairly ambitious thing to do. I’m also not a graphics expert, just someone who likes Julia/Makie and didn’t enjoy fiddling with matplotlib’s dated API. For these reasons I am starting this thread as a place to discuss the general ideas.

Motivation, i.e. plots that could be supported:

• polar plots (native)
  • crystallographic pole plots (external package)
  • stereographic plots (external package)
  • …others?

The difficult parts (probably):

• contouring?
  • axis ticks/labels
  • interactivity (not really something I need but I think matplotlib can “zoom” polar plots)

Some coordinate transformations (including polar) are already part of CoordinateTransformations.jl, and Proj.jl implements a derived Transformation type. These are being used in GeoMakie.jl.

Makie has its own distinct Transformation type, which is part of the observables stack. The transformation types from the other mentioned packages would ideally just plug in somehow to the transform_func member of Makie.Transformation.

3D is very likely out of scope. In that sense, I could naïvely imagine two approaches:

• Implement a transform_func attribute for the existing 2D Axis type that triggers the correct transformation setup
  • Write a new NonlinearAxis that is specifically for “weird” kind of plots like this, maybe some benefit from separation of concerns

I’ll come back with some code snippets soon, happy to hear any thoughts on what has or has not been attempted in this (transformed!) space.

There was also a first attempt at polar axes in this PR.

1 Like

Can’t quite grok the transformation stack yet, I’m hitting method errors.

For example:

using CairoMakie
using CoordinateTransformations

fig, ax, plt = scatter(1:10, 1:10)
to_polar = Observable{CoordinateTransformations.Transformation}(