Newbie question regarding opening files

I have no background with computer programming, but am a daily fantasy sports player. I recently came across a paper - “Picking Winners Using Integer Programming” by David Hunter, Juan Pablo Vielma, and Tauhid Zaman.

Maybe I’m in over my head here, but I am trying to run their code - https://github.com/dscotthunter/Fantasy-Hockey-IP-Code

I’ve successfully downloaded and run all of the required software, as instructed on the GitHub page.

I downloaded the code in the zip file to my machine (I placed it on my desktop).

Under “running the code” it says to “open the file code_for_Github.jl” When I type “code_for_Github.jl” into Julia it comes back with “ERROR: UndefVarError: code_for_Github not defined”

I’m assuming I am doing something wrong, but just not sure how to proceed to get this code run.

Any help for a newbie would be much appreciated!

-Ryan

I have not looked at their source code, but a general comment I can make is that this particular code is 2 years old and there has been rapid development in both JuMP and Julia itself over that time. Since Julia is still in alpha breaking changes are not uncommon. This situation will change soon with the release of Julia 0.7 (the “true” beta for 1.0). It’s likely that changes would have to be made to the source code to get it to run correctly. If you are serious about using this, you should look for someone to update the code for current Julia and JuMP versions (probably not difficult).

The code_for_Github.jl is a Julia script. You can run it from your terminal with:

julia code_for_Github.jl

So I figured out the initial problem was that I hadn’t properly set my home directory. I got that all sorted out, and tried to run the code…but ended up with this error:

ERROR: LoadError: UndefVarError: GLPKSolverMIP not defined
Stacktrace: