Newbie : Accessing DataFrame with row and column names

Hello,

I am complete newbie/convert to Julia also to Datascience. I am following a tutorial on probability. I would like to create so called a probability matrix with DataFrames. Probabiliy matrix in the example problem has fixed number of rows and columns. The rows and colums are all named. There are additional total column and row in the margins of the rows and columns. For example there are 3x2 numeric rows and colums to hold the probability data, 1 additional row and colum for the sum of corresponding rows and colums marked as total, and 1 row and column to hold the names to relevant rows and colunms. It is similar to contingency matrix in machine learning.

I understand, Julia and Dataframes are column oriented, I have read the manual of DataFrames. My wishes are

1. I would like access the dataframe like access to the specific cell via df[:rowname,:columnname].
  2. How can I contruct such specific dataframe with minimal effort (possiblely with a constructor) and keep names etc all in the same data structure, dataframe…

I have seen no row related naming functionality in API if I am not wrong.

Any help much appreciated.

It sounds to me like what you actually want is something from https://github.com/invenia/NamedDims.jl or https://github.com/davidavdav/NamedArrays.jl rather than a DataFrame.

1 Like

Thank you for the reply. After posting forum, I have read another post similar to this. The advice was to use AxisArrays and NamedArrays. Yes Dataframe is not suitable for this task which mimics database tables.

I preferred NamesArrays since the documentation is much clear and the performance is not deep concern in this little matrix . Following creates exactly what I want.

pt = NamedArray(zeros(3,4), ( [:good, :bad, :ctotal], [:S, :T, :U, :rtotal] ), (“Quality”, “Manufacturer”))

Again thank you for the response.