New to Julia / lost in translation / how to index a simple 2d-array of strings

Hi,

I’ve (very recently) started with julia and decided I would migrate my (java-) chess-engine to julia.

Installation of the environment and ide (vs code) has been pretty smooth and I like working in the repl, which neatly complements my need to get aquainted with lots of new constructs and concepts of the language. I have plenty of experience, in general, hacking basic & 6510-assembler as a preteen (back in the 80s), then turbo-pascal & C(++), java, sql, R and whatever else I had to deal with, in various challenges as a freelancer (even pl/1 on a mainframe for a while). Nowadays, I’m not coding that much, anymore, but am trying to stay up-to-date with the developments on a practical level.

My first goal is to migrate the utility-, debugging- and logging-functions of the engine to julia. It’s the most boring part of it, but essential for a clean migration and it’s also my opportunity to learn the constructs, patterns & tools, julia provides, before I need my brain for more critical (and performance-relevant!) pieces of code, which include a lot of bit-fiddling on integers, processor intrinsics, branch-avoidance, etc…

…however, I’ve already gotten stuck, trying to understand the way, julia indexes into arrays. I know about the column-major indexing, etc. - so one might think “how hard can that even be?”
…well, turns out: Harder than I thought: :sweat_smile:

const DISPLAY_MARKED            = "|"
const DISPLAY_NOTMARKED         = " "
const DISPLAY_PIECE             = "O"
const DISPLAY_NOPIECE           = " "
const DISPLAY_SQUARE            = [ (DISPLAY_NOTMARKED  * DISPLAY_NOPIECE   * DISPLAY_NOTMARKED)
                                    (DISPLAY_MARKED     * DISPLAY_NOPIECE   * DISPLAY_MARKED)
                                ;   (DISPLAY_NOTMARKED  * DISPLAY_PIECE     * DISPLAY_NOTMARKED)
                                    (DISPLAY_MARKED     * DISPLAY_PIECE     * DISPLAY_MARKED)