Need for explicitly defining subtypes in function arguments?

Sorry I’m very new to type systems here.

I’m wondering why you need to state that your function should accept all subtypes in the class hierarchy for nodes which are defined.

julia> x = collect(1:2)
2-element Vector{Int64}:

julia> g(x::Array{T}) where {T<:Real} = x .* 2
g (generic function with 2 methods)

julia> g(x)
2-element Vector{Int64}:

Is there a case where you would ever define a type higher up in the hierarchy - e.g.,

g(x::Array{Real}) = x .* 2

where you wouldn’t want the function to apply to subtypes? I.e., why is the definition above not permitted?

2 Likes

The key point is that Array{Real} and Array{Float64} have completely different memory layouts. Array{Real} is an array of pointers to elements who’s type is unknown. By comparison Array{Float64} is simply a bunch of Float64s next to each other in memory (and you know the element types at compile time). In Julia, no concrete types have subtypes. Array{Float64} is not a subtype of Array{Real} (i.e. Julia’s type system is invariant).

7 Likes

It is

julia> g(x::Array{Real}) = x .* 2
g (generic function with 1 method)

julia> g(Real[i for i in 1:3])
3-element Vector{Int64}:

You just need to call the method with the appropriate type:

julia> typeof(Real[i for i in 1:3])
Vector{Real} (alias for Array{Real, 1})

If it makes any difference to you, you can shorten this syntax a bit:

g(x::Array{<:Real}) = x .* 2
6 Likes

Doesn’t Float64 <: Real => true mean that a concrete type has a subtype? Though Real is not an abstract type.

I now see your argument made in Parametric Composite Types section.

https://docs.julialang.org/en/v1/manual/types/#Parametric-Types