Native GUI suggestion for Linux

I have some signal processing code (pitch detection from an audio signal) and I would like to write a very simple application that displays the result graphically in a window, continuously updated in real time, maybe controlled by a few sliders/buttons for some parameters.

I am absolutely inexperienced in programming GUIs. I would like to ask for recommendations on a GUI framework to use on Linux with current Julia.

I have little to no knowledge of how signals and event loops should be implemented for something like this. The rough idea is that

1. I want to do a blocking read from an audio source and do the processing; this is the bulk of the CPU usage and should probably live in its own thread (doing this fast is the main motivation for using Julia),

2. the above should deposit results in a shared container between threads,

3. another thread should do the display and control.

But maybe I need a way that the processing thread can tell the display thread that it has new results?

Pointers to code that does something like this are welcome.

5 Likes

This example works fine on macOS. It shows a real-time view of the mic audio signal in the frequency domain. To detect the pitch you will have to find the peaks and transform them into note information.

For the GUI part, I’d recommend QML. This examples shows, how to embed GR graphics in a QML window.

4 Likes

Do you want to interact with the UI, or just plotting?

I am extensively using Gtk.jl fur such things. Here is a screenshot of what you can accomplish.

19 Likes

Some minimal interaction would be nice.

Your example looks amazing, do you have a link to the source?

curious to see what the recommendations will end up being.
Currently I use the pyviz toolstack PyViz Blog
(python!)