Native eigenvals for differentiable programming

Hi all,

I’m working on a problem where I require an autodifferentiable eigenvalue solver for real, square matrices (but non-hermitian). Since Linear algebra’s version is based on LAPACK, I can’t use autodiff and I haven’t been able to make any other versions work (e.g. using GenericLinearAlgebra.jl). Do you know of a solver I can use? Pytorch seems to have an implementation (torch — PyTorch 1.12 documentation) so it should be possible I think…

Thanks!

Can’t you just tell the AD package what the adjoint to eigvals is? Then you don’t have to differentiate through it.

3 Likes

I’m pretty new to auto diff; how exactly would this work?

1 Like

You can see how it’s done for some common deep learning functions here
https://github.com/FluxML/Zygote.jl/blob/a50f4cf88b1a9e74a94e5295cb468b94ae3f1d9e/src/lib/nnlib.jl#L4
A guide is provided here
https://fluxml.ai/Zygote.jl/dev/adjoints/

2 Likes

Perhaps ArnoldiMethods.jl Iterative Solvers.jl and KrylovKit.jl might work for you. (all implemented in Julia.

1 Like

Autograd used to have it before the upgrade to 1.0 made descending into tuples for backward mode ad difficult. I’ve implemented some hacks for svd myself, I’d have to look them up (essentially you’d have to unwrap the SVD return type). Anyway the backward mode code for svd is still in the autograd package, is just not accessible. I believe there is an open issue.

1 Like

I tried ArnoldiMethods but it seemed there was some sampling in there (not sure, I’m not versed in these numerical methods), making it impossible to do autograd… I’ll check the other things but I think making a custom adjoint might be easiest.

Would be great if you could look them up, then I’ll try and start implementing something for eig. Any idea how hard it would be?