My simple embedding example works on Linux, fails in Windows

I’m working on a project right now in which I need to call Julia from a C++ Windows application. I’m not a Windows expert but need it for this project. I’m using julia 1.0.2 and on the C++ side I’m building with Microsoft Visual studio 2017. I was running into some memory access violation exceptions in the following scenario:

1. Call julia function that returns mutable struct using jl_call (or by directly calling an @ccallable function)
  2. Use that mutable struct as input in subsequent jl_call (or call to @ccallable function)

In the course of narrowing down the problem I went back to basics and found that the following MWE runs successfully on linux building with g++ but fails on Windows:

#include <iostream>
#include <julia.h>
JULIA_DEFINE_FAST_TLS() // only define this once, in an executable (not in a shared library) if you want fast code.

int main(int argc, char *argv[])
{
    /* required: setup the Julia context */
    jl_init();

/* run Julia commands */
    int64_t n = 10;
    jl_value_t* jl_n = jl_box_int64(n);
    jl_eval_string("using SparseArrays");
    jl_module_t *SparseArrays = (jl_module_t*)jl_eval_string("SparseArrays");
    jl_function_t *sprandn = jl_get_function(SparseArrays, "sprandn");
    jl_atexit_hook(0);
    return 0;
} 

When building this with visual studio 2017 on Windows it crashes with the following message and backtrace

Please submit a bug report with steps to reproduce this fault, and any error messages that follow (in their entirety). Thanks.
Exception: EXCEPTION_ACCESS_VIOLATION at 0x43a3ac9da -- ptrhash_get at /home/Administrator/buildbot/worker/package_win64/build/src/support\ptrhash.c:26
in expression starting at no file:0
ptrhash_get at /home/Administrator/buildbot/worker/package_win64/build/src/support\ptrhash.c:26
jl_get_binding_ at /home/Administrator/buildbot/worker/package_win64/build/src\module.c:230 [inlined]