My code works in R but generates an error in DifferentialEquations.jl

Hello again, I am still trying to determine why my model’s population goes below 0 which generates an error of imaginary numbers. I am new to Julia, using the latest version on Atom (1.0 I think) and working on Windows10.

I am trying to recreate a three species food chain but keep running into a Exponentiation yielding a complex result requires a complex argument. Replace x^y with (x+0im)^y, Complex(x)^y, or similar error in Julia.

But, my code works in R so I am stumped as what to do.

Julia code (that works)

using DifferentialEquations
f = @ode_def_bare FoodChain begin
dBB = r*(1- BB/K)*BB -xI*yIB*BI*((BB^h/(B0^h + BB^h))/eIB)
dBI = -xI*BI + xI*yIB*BI*(BB^h/(B0^h + BB^h))-xT *yTI*BT*((BI^h/(B0^h + BI^h))/eTI)
dBT = -xT*BT + xT*yTI*BT*(BI^h/(B0^h + BI^h))
end r K xI yIB h B0 eIB xT yTI eTI q E
u0 = [155.0,107.0,93.0]
tspan = (0.0,1000.0)
p = (1.1, 700, 0.18, 10, 1.2, 80, 0.66, 0.06, 10, 0.85)
# r K xI yIB h B0 eIB xT yTI eTI
prob = ODEProblem(f,u0,tspan,p)
sol=solve(prob, saveat=0.05)

using Plots

plot(sol,xlabel = "Time" ,ylabel = "Density", lw=0.5, layout = (3,1))

If I change r from 1.1 to 0.3 (first parameter), it will generate the previously mentioned error BUT it will work in R. In R the populations do not go below zero, which I thought is the reason for triggering the Julia error.

I am completely discombobulated.

library("deSolve")
library("EMD") # this package provides a function that returns local maxima and minima of a time series, not only the global extrema

model.rma <-function(t, x, parms)
{
  BB<-x[1]
  BI<-x[2]
  BT<-x[3]

dBB <- r*(1- BB/K)*BB -xI*yIB*BI*((BB^h/(B0^h + BB^h))/eIB)
  dBI <- -xI*BI + xI*yIB*BI*(BB^h/(B0^h + BB^h))-xT *yTI*BT*((BI^h/(B0^h + BI^h))/eTI)
  dBT <- -xT*BT + xT*yTI*BT*(BI^h/(B0^h + BI^h))

return(list(c(dBB,dBI,dBT)))
}

tmax <- 1000
BB.0 <- 155.0   # initial values
BI.0 <- 107.0
BT.0 <- 93.0

r <- 0.3
K <- 700