Mutable objects in Enzyme.jl

Hi everyone

I am new to automatic differentiation. I decided to use Enzyme since I need to handle mutating objects (even if I am not differentiating with respect to these objects).

I try to write a minimal, self-consistent, example:

using Enzyme

mutable struct my_struct
    p1::Vector{Float64}
    p2::Float64
end

function edit_str!(str::my_struct, x, i)
    str.p2 = str.p2 + 2x^2
    return nothing
end

function foo(x, str)
    edit_str!(str, x, 1)
    return str.p2
end

str = my_struct([2.0, 3.0], 1.0)

foo(1.0, str), autodiff(Reverse, foo, Active, Active(1.0), str)

Here I try to differentiate the function foo in x = 1.0. Note that the function edit_str! inside foo changes the object str. Yet, I do not need to differentiate with respect to str.

I found out that, depending on the mutations on str, the code may or may not work. In the above example it gives the right result 4.0, but if I change it slightly

str.p1 = str.p1 .+ 1.0
    str.p2 = str.p2 + 2x^2
    return nothing
end

it does not work anymore and it gives 0.0. Note that str.p1 is not needed anywhere. Perhaps even weirder, this works

str.p1 = 2.0 * str.p1
    str.p2 = str.p2 + 2x^2
    return nothing
end

I guess it depends on the kind of mutation on the mutable struct, but I would like to know if there is a robust way of dealing with this.

Thanks a lot.

1 Like

The following should work

autodiff(Reverse, foo, Active, Active(1.0), Duplicated(str, my_struct([0., 0.], 0.)))

See caveats.

3 Likes

Tank you very much for your answer. This works indeed, but how can I generalise? How can I know how to initialise a more complex mutable struct?

1 Like

In the second argument of Duplicated? I would initialize everything that is mutated to zero, but I don’t know if there is an official recommendation by Enzyme authors.

Thank you very much @jbrea

Here is the official answer from the developers: