Multiple variable assignment and ODE solution extracting

Hi there!

I am quite new to Julia and have read manuals, tutorials, FAQs, and almost all question threads regarding the following, but have not yet found a solution.

I have a system of 17 ordinary differential equations that I can successfully solve with solve. However, I need the solutions of each function (the us) to be assinged each to a variable name (say v1, v2, v3, …, v17). So I am expecting them to be arrays of Nx1 (or 1xN).

Do you know a way to do this?

Thank you in advance!

Simple example:

function pendulum!(du,u,p,t)
    g = 9.81
    L = 2
    alpha = u[1]
    omega = u[2]
    du[1] = omega
    du[2] = -g/L*sin(alpha)
end
#
u0 = [pi/4,0.1]
tspan = (0.,5)
prob = ODEProblem(pendulum!,u0,tspan)
sol = solve(prob)

Here, sol is a fancy data structure that contains the time instances for the solution in field t, sol.t. It also contains the solution vector of variable 1 in sol[1,:], so I can plot the first variable as follows:

plot(sol.t,sol[1,:])

However, sol also contains an interpolation function, and by using function syntax, sol(0.5) contains the state vector at time = 0.5. A better way to do the plotting is the following:

plot(sol,vars=(0,1))

which (i) plots variable 1 as a function of variable 0 (= time), and (ii) uses interpolation so the solution looks smoother than if you use plot(sol.t,sol[1,:]).

You can extract the solutions as a matrix with variable 1 in row 1, variable 2 in row 2, etc.:

sol[1:end,:]

Here, column n corresponds to the time instance sol.t[n].

You can achieve the same by:

reduce(hcat,sol.(sol.t))

Here, sol.(sol.t)) computes the solution in the points given by time vector sol.t, and reduce(hcat,.) wraps the result into the same matrix as sol[1:end,:].