Multiple Constraints using JuMP for unbounded knapsack

I am new to programming, so I hope that the description of my probleme is accurate:

Based on knapsack, I used JuMP and GLPK to come up with a solution for the unbounded knapsack problem.:

function unbounded_knapsack(validparam::Vector::{Float64})
    weight = [validparam[i]^2 for i in 1:length(validparam)]
    model = Model(GLPK.Optimizer)
    @variable(model, x[1:(length(validparam))],Int)
    @objective(model, Max, weight' * x)
    @constraint(model, paramlist'*x == 20)
    @constraint(model,x.>=0)
    Jump.optimize!(model)

unbounded_knapsack([1.0,2.0,3.0,4.0,5.0])

The Function returns the Vector [0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,4.0].
For my purpose the code works fine.

Now I want to have additional constraints:

@constraint(model,paramlist'*x==20)
@constraint(model,paramlist'*x==30)
@constraint(model,paramlist'*x==40)

I am getting this error:

ERROR: LoadError: Result index of attribute MathOptInterface.VariablePrimal(1) out of bounds. There are currently 0 solution(s) in the model.

The constraints represent additional knapsacks with weight constrictions = 20,30,40,…
The code should return the number of items of the parameterlist to fill the 3 knapsacks effectively.

Is there a way to implement these addtional constraints?
Do I even use the right Package for the varied unbounded knapsack problem?

Thanks.

You need to check the termination_status(model) to see if the solver found a solution. As the error says, there are 0 solution(s) in the model, which indicates it is infeasible.

Docs: https://jump.dev/JuMP.jl/stable/solutions/#Obtaining-solutions-1

@constraint(model,paramlist'*==20)

I don’t know what this means. I’m guessing you mean paramlist' * x == 20. This will apply the constraint to the same x each time. You need a different variable for each knapsack.

1 Like

I wrote my masters’ dissertation on the UKP. Here is a short and newer version of it (and here is the long and old one). It seems to me that: