More flexible Distributions package

Dear friends, I am a statistician and I have all my training in this area. In my PhD I worked with probability distribution generators and recently I became interested in the Julia language. I come from the R language and sometimes I “dirty” my hands with C++ when I need, in R, a little more performance.

I came across, in Julia, the package Distributions that even allows us to extend the universe of distributions, based on their abstract types and internal functions .

Currently, since the early 2000s, probability distributions have expanded very widely. Today we have several probability distribution generators, which generate new families of much more flexible probability distributions, however, with properties that need to be calculated, in general, numerically.

For example, if G is a probability distribution, then G^a, with a > 0 is a new probability distribution with one more shape parameter, with G as a special case. This generator is called Exp-G. If G is Weibul, we can generate the Exp-Weibul(alpha, beta, a), and so on. Other than that, there are thousands of other probability distribution generators and a new one comes out every day.

In these new complex distributions, there is no need to have the maximum likelihood estimators in closed form, moments in closed form, etc. In these cases, there is no need to obtain the log-likelihood function, since it can be obtained numerically.

For example, many probability distributions do not have a quantile function defined in closed form. This would prevent, for example, generating observations of random variables that follow these distributions. But we have numerical methods to generate observations of a distribution, for example, the accept and reject method, for univariate distributions that are widely used.