Modifying the input parameters to function in a function while solving differential equations

I am new to Julia. Some workshops from this year’s JuliaCon really impressed me and I started exploring… This might be quite a basic question.

I am trying to implement a callback while solving an ODE problem. I want the callback to be based on a value of the passed parameter which I want to modify in the function itself. This is my function.

function df(du, u, (bool_burst, bp, p), t)

press = #some calculated value

bool_burst = press<bp

end

function condition(u, t, integrator)
    @show integrator.p[1]
    integrator.p[1]==1

end 

function affect!(integrator)
end

In my case, the value of bool_burst is not changing when I use @show to print the value.
Thanks in advance.

It is a little hard to tell without seeing more code, but with what you posted, I do not expect the change in bool_burst to be visible outside of du. I think you need to add press to your state vector u and then use a continuous callback like

function continuous_condition(u, t, integrator)
   press = u[some index]
   return press - integrator.p[1]
end

Then affect! will be called when continuous_condition crosses zero.

1 Like

Thank You for your response @contradict.
Actually press is standard atmospheric pressure calculated using a separate function, at given altitude which is tracked in du.

function df(du, u, (bp,p), t)
    x = u[1]
    y = u[2]
    z = u[3]
    vx = u[4]
    vy = u[5]
    vz = u[6]
    Tib = u[7]
    Tf = u[8]
    mg = u[9]

a = atm(floor(y))

## here press is calculated
    ρ , press, T, ν = ISAdata(y)

####

g = 9.81

rn = 3* mg *p["mol_m_a"]
    rd = 4*π*ρ*p["mol_m_g"]
    r = (rn/rd)^(1.0/3)
    area = π*r^2

Re = ρ*sqrt(vx^2 + vy^2 + vz^2)*2*r/ν
    cib = press/(8314.0 * Tib)
    ρg = cib*p["mol_m_g"]

Sca = ν/(ρ*2*r)
    Scg = Sca

acc_y = get_forces_x( p["mp"] + mg, mg, ρ, g, p["cd_up"], vy, area, p["mol_m_g"], p["mol_m_a"])/(mg+ p["mp"])