ModelingToolkit variable with Distributions.cdf()

Hi,

I am new to Julia and trying out the ModelingToolking package. I have a basic understanding of the type system and the dynamic dispatch, but couldn’t figure out why this didn’t work.

This works perfectly - almost magic to me:

>>> using ModelingToolkit
>>> using Distributions
>>> @variables t
>>> d = Normal()
>>> pdf(d, t)
(exp((-abs2((t - 0.0) / 1.0)) / 2) * invsqrt2π) / 1.0

Then this didn’t work.

>>> cdf(d, t)
MethodError: no method matching AbstractFloat(::Num)
Closest candidates are:
  AbstractFloat(::Real, !Matched::RoundingMode) where T<:AbstractFloat at rounding.jl:200
  AbstractFloat(::T) where T<:Number at boot.jl:716
  AbstractFloat(!Matched::Bool) at float.jl:258

If I check the Distributions package documentation, both functions have the same function signature:

cdf(d::UnivariateDistribution, x::Real)
pdf(d::UnivariateDistribution, x::Real)

Also, from the ModelingToolkit tutorial,

Note that by default, @variables returns Sym or Term objects wrapped in Num in order to make them behave like subtypes of Real .

So, I’m wondering why it worked for pdf but not for cdf.

1 Like

Symbolic values get passed through normal Julia code fine, but in this case erfc is implemented in C and Julia attempts to convert the symbolic value t to a floating point number to pass to the C routine. This can’t work, so you get the traceback. The solution is to tell ModelingToolkit that erfc is a fundamental operation and that it shouldn’nt bother trying to look inside it.

julia> using SpecialFunctions
julia> @register SpecialFunctions.erfc(x)
julia> cdf(d, t)
erfc((-((t - 0.0) / 1.0)) * invsqrt2) / 2

In the case of pdf, exp had already been registered with ModelingToolkit, so it already knew not to look inside.

2 Likes

I kinda remember that Matlab can symbolically differentiate its normcdf function. Does that mean Matlab’s normcdf is not derived from erfc?