Missing shared library file when pre-compiling

Hi all, I’m new to Julia but “old” regarding software development.

I’m trying to add the package BlackBoxOptim for some Julia code, but I’m having problems finding a shared C library file, “libmbedtls.so”. As far as I’m aware, the BlackBoxOptim Julia package, has a set of dependencies, one of them, MBed TLS, is the source of the missing shared C library.

I’m running Julia in a new and untouched Conda environment. It is a clean box. I added BlackBoxOptim to the julia package manager (I’m new to Julia - forgive any use of incorrect terms), but on importing the package - which pre-compiles it - I see the error:

julia> import BlackBoxOptim
[ Info: Precompiling BlackBoxOptim [a134a8b2-14d6-55f6-9291-3336d3ab0209]
ERROR: LoadError: InitError: could not load library “libmbedtls.so”
libmbedx509.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Stacktrace:
[1] dlopen(s::String, flags::UInt32; throw_error::Bool)

Within my conda environment, I found the file:

/home/shodan/miniconda3/envs/julia_ness/lib/libmbedtls.so
/home/shodan/miniconda3/envs/julia_ness/lib/julia/libmbedtls.so
/home/shodan/miniconda3/pkgs/mbedtls-3.3.0-hcb278e6_0/lib/libmbedtls.so
/home/shodan/miniconda3/pkgs/julia-1.9.3-h06b7c97_0/lib/julia/libmbedtls.so

I’m new to Julia as of 1 hour ago. How do I point Julia in the direction of the correct location for this shared library file?

Many thanks and I appreciate your patience.

Did you install Julia via conda-forge? If so, from which channel? Is this on Linux?

If so, please raise this as an issue on the julia-feedstock. I am personally trying to maintain this but navigating the line between Julia and conda-forge is a bit tricky.

In particular we are trying to use mbedTLS from conda-forge: USE_SYSTEM_MBEDTLS=1.

I believe there is an issue with the configuration of the Julia standard library MbedTLS_jll.jl which must be done at build time.