Missing data and NamedTuple compatibility

By adding support for missing data and NamedTuples Julia is offering very solid foundations to build a data ecosystem upon. While I’m extremely happy that these two features have been added (especially given the extensive discussion and work that they required), I’d like to show that there are some scenarios where I’m afraid they do not play nicely with each other and see what are possible solutions (I’m not an expert on the technical side though, so my ideas in this respect may be flawed/unfeasible). This issue has been already mentioned elsewhere, but I hope it can be useful to have a writeup that’s understandable also for non-experts (such as myself).

Let’s start with a concrete example. When updating the package MySQL to the new version of DataFrames, it became clear that there was something tricky with the corresponding row iterator. To be more specific, let’s imagine that I’m streaming data from a remote dataset with two columns, :x and :y, which contain integers and can both have missing data. A first obvious attempt is to iterate each row as a tuple, with a value for :x and one for :y. However, this is type unstable, as every row could then have 4 different types:

Tuple{Int, Int}
Tuple{Int, Missing}
Tuple{Missing, Int}
Tuple{Missing, Missing}

This seems bad as the number of possible types increases exponentially with the number of columns of the dataset. Note that explicitly typing the returned Tuple doesn’t actually do anything, as Tuples are covariant, therefore:

julia> typeof(Tuple{Union{Missing, Int64}, Union{Missing, Int64}}((1, 2)))
Tuple{Int64,Int64}

The next attempt is to use NamedTuples instead as IIUC they are not covariant so the explicit typing is effective:

julia> typeof(NamedTuple{(:x, :y),Tuple{Union{Missing,Int}, Union{Missing, Int}}}((1, 2)))
NamedTuple{(:x, :y),Tuple{Union{Missing, Int64},Union{Missing, Int64}}}