Memory allocation problem with Optim + ApproxFun

Hi all. I’m quite new to Julia and this is my first post.

I want to optimize a functional F[\phi] = \int_0^1 \left[\frac{1}{2}\left(\partial_x \phi\right)^2 + V(x,\phi(x))\right]\text{d}x. Of course, this can be done by using variational methods and solving ODEs, but I want to treat it as an optimization problem. I know \phi is periodic in the internal [0,1], so I write it as an expansion \phi = \sum_n \phi_n e^{i 2\pi n x} (or equivalently in terms of sines and cosines) using the ApproxFun package. The functional now becomes a function of the series coefficients: F[\phi] \to F(\phi_1,\ldots ,\phi_n), which can be minimized using optimization methods.

I have a code which is working, but slowly. It is not so bad in the example provided, but will be much slower when the number of coefficients needed becomes very large.

I suspect the problem is to do with memory allocations. Defining a series expansion using ApproxFun is fine and so is differentiating the function, but when I do other operations like squaring the function, it does a lot of memory allocations. This propagates quite poorly through the numerical integration and optimization functions.

I would really appreciate if somebody could help me find a way to get this method to work without the huge memory allocation (which will hopefully speed things up and make it scale better when going to 2D). Minimal working example below using V(x,\phi(x)) = k \cos{(2\pi(x+\phi(x)))} as an example:

using ApproxFun   # For defining series expansions
using QuadGK      # for numerical integration
using Optim       # for optimization

using Plots ; gr()
using LaTeXStrings

s=Fourier(0..1) # Specify the space.
                # CosSpace / SinSpace for just cos/sin
                # or exponentials with Laurent(0..1)

# Returns an expansion using entries of vec as coefficients
function fourier(space,vec::Vector{Float64})