Make devectorized operation default?

Hello, I am new to julia, and before that, I use matlab, numpy, fortran quite alot, and I find Julia is everything I need to do computational work, especially its auto-differential ecosystem.

After reading some offfical documents, I find the biggest coding paradigm difference is to write devectorized code according to:
Performance Tips · The Julia Language

I am wondering, since devectorized code is so highly prefered in julia, why does not julia make devectorized operation its default behavior? instead of using boilerplates like: f(x) = 3x.^2 + 4x + 7x.^3; and fdot(x) = @. 3x^2 + 4x + 7x^3; or to use additional Devectorize.jl

Is it possible to make devectorized or dotified operation default behavior for Julia in future versions?

and also, the println and print intrinic functions are mighty confusing for new users, can you do something about that?

thank you for your time.

Two things:

1. This change won’t happen, even if it was a good idea, PSA: Julia is not at that stage of development anymore
  2. Writing unvectorized code is orthogonal to automatic broadcasting. What Julia and the unvectorized paradigm says is “don’t treat vectors special”, which is a much more tenable and extensible way to program. Want to take the length of each vector in a vector of vectors? Just broadcast it. I would recommend trying this out for a while and then trying to go back to matlab, you’ll notice and be annoyed by how arbitrary their broadcasting rules are.

What about print and println is confusing?

3 Likes

Maybe you can explain what you mean by ‘devectorized’? I would normally take it to mean ‘not vectorized’, as in using explicit loops instead of broadcasting, but the above paragraph is a bit confusing on that point.