Mac or Windows for better Julia experience?

Hello All,

I have been working with Julia on Windows for about 3 years, more specifically with JuMP for energy systems optimization.
There has always been a pain to install some packages and some “unusual tricks” are required to get them running. Most of the solutions provided here are for Mac users or they simply cannot be reproduced on other machines.
This is especially frustrating for new Julia users on Windows, whom I teach energy systems optimization.
I do not know if these pains are common for other Windows users.

My question is: now I have the opportunity to change my working laptop (paid by the employer), should I get a Mac for working better with Julia?

Definitely

I would recommend Linux, if that is an option.

5 Likes

I cant imagine switching to all things Mac just for Julia. But to each their own.

1 Like

You need to figure out whether the software you are currently depend on will run on the new platform and if yes would it be crippled in any way? Personally, I have windows, macs and linux experience, and from a software development point of view linux gives the best experience, because almost everything is pre-packaged and easy to install. If you depend on commercial software that is not available on linux, that is another issue. Apple has weird choices, for examle: macOS 10.15: Slow by Design

4 Likes

Dual boot Windows and Ubuntu Linux.
It is easy enough to do.

My personal laptop is dual boot Windows 10 and Fedora Linux. I liked Windows as it is a retina screen HP Spectre which is convertible and touchscreen so worked perfectly with Windows.
These days Fedora works perfectly for me also so I use Fedora almost exclusively.

I think you should first try to run Julia in WSL (Windows Subsystem for Linux). It seems to have good performance, see discussion on Simple benchmarks to run to test WSL2 vs Windows Native - #4 by Palli