LSP not showing error

I’m new to Julia development and was just trying out the following snippet:
`
function foo()::String
return 22
end

`

I expected LSP to have highlighted the code with error, because the return type of this function is String and I’m returning a number from this function but I see no squiggly lines or any error in VSCode.

Does anyone know why LSP is not flagging this as error?

Because there’s no rule for this.

Also note that this is slightly tricky, because someone can always define the appropriate convert method somewhere

julia> function foo()::String
         return 22
       end
foo (generic function with 1 method)

julia> foo()
ERROR: MethodError: Cannot `convert` an object of type Int64 to an object of type String
Closest candidates are:
  convert(::Type{String}, ::String) at essentials.jl:218
  convert(::Type{T}, ::T) where T<:AbstractString at strings/basic.jl:231
  convert(::Type{T}, ::AbstractString) where T<:AbstractString at strings/basic.jl:232
Stacktrace:
 [1] foo()
   @ Main ./REPL[64]:2
 [2] top-level scope
   @ REPL[65]:1

julia> Base.convert(::Type{String}, i::Int64) = string(i)

julia> foo()
"22"
1 Like

To expand upon the answer from @pfitzseb, function return type declarations work by adding an implicit type conversion at the end of your function. It’s not a static guarantee, it’s a dynamic conversion, which could fail if the conversion fails. Julia is a dynamic language, after all. :slight_smile:

Most of the time you should avoid annotating return types because it makes your functions less generic and because it relies on an implicit conversion. If you really need to convert the output of your function to String, then you might as well add an explicit conversion inside your function.

Quoting from the manual:

Return type declarations are rarely used in Julia: in general, you should instead write “type-stable” functions in which Julia’s compiler can automatically infer the return type.

2 Likes