Looking for a good backend for 3D plots

Hey, I am still fairly new to Julia (coming mainly from Matlab) and am looking for a good solution for 3D plots.
So far, it seems to me like you have to pick one plotting backend (Matplotlib, Makie, … [?] ) and master it, so I wanted to scout out where to invest time.

What I want to plot (out of the “ordinary”):
3D flow fields from wind turbines - Might be slices, might be something playing with transparency like this, I am also open for suggestions in that regard. And naturally it depends on what the options are.

What I expect / hope to get:

• Being able to move the plot! Often it is hard to say which angle shows features in the best way, and needing to re-plott it with always slightly changing angle would be a pain.
  • Classic features like: Intuitive use, well documented, easy to save in different formats, font can be changed, speed - these kind of things.

Maybe I am also spoiled by Matlab’s figure and its options, but I hope to find something similar and maybe even better. Thanks!

MeshCat.jl

2 Likes

I’ve recently used Makie for interactive 3D volume plots of flow fields, and in some respects it works very well - snappy response to interactions and lots of configurable options. But the Makie API is in a state of flux right now, with the core axis/layout/plotting mechanisms halfway between the old and the new (especially for 3D). Right now, I’d say Makie satisfies all your requirements except intuitive use & good documentation, both of which should improve once the API settles down.

2 Likes

Thanks! Is there currently a major re-work going on?
And I assume you are using the GLMakie.jl backend?

Yes, @jules has been working through a major overhaul of Makie’s axis/layout mechanisms. I’ve used both GLMakie and WGLMakie. I’d recommend sticking to GLMakie until everything stabilizes.