Logarithm of Symbolic Polynomial

Hi all, I’m new to Julia and have been using it for about a week, so apologies if the answer to this is obvious and I just haven’t been able to work it out.

The project that I’m using Julia for requires taking the logarithm of a polynomial and then optimizing it (e.g.: log(0.75*y + 125)). Initially I was doing this with SymPy, but I want to try and use some Julia packages to see how they compare. I was intending to use the DynamicPolynomials package like this:

using DynamicPolynomials

@polyvar x
f(x) = log(x)

f(x+2)

But I get an error:

ERROR: LoadError: MethodError: no method matching log(::Polynomial{true,Int64})
Closest candidates are:
  log(::Float16) at math.jl:1018
  log(::Complex{Float16}) at math.jl:1019
  log(::Float64) at special/log.jl:254

Which I understand. Is there any sort of workaround to this? Maybe a symbolic logarithm function, or using another package would be better? I searched for a solution but I wasn’t able to find a lot of information. Thank you!

Could you provide some more details on your use case? What optimization problem are you trying to solve?

It’s a computational finance problem. I’m trying to perform utility optimization on an n-period model with one stock, where the investor buys and holds the stock. The utility function, U(x) I’m using is ln(x), where x is the capital at time n. So the process is to derive U(x), set it equal to zero, and solve for the number of shares I need to buy at time zero to maximize my expected utility at time n.

Are you just using gradient-based optimization, then? Or numerical root finding? I’m just trying to figure out first and foremost whether the optimization method you’re using inherently requires a symbolic representation of the function, or whether it’s also fine to just pass it a black-box function that given x returns the log of the polynomial evaluated at x (and possibly the gradient w.r.t. x if you’re using a gradient-based solver).

1 Like