Loading data sometimes very slow on HPC system

Hi there,
I am processing a bunch of JLD2 files (O(10GB)) on my local cluster. Sometimes (not always), loading a file takes ages (>10min), but sometimes it only takes ~10 seconds. Usually after loading it slowly once, the second time loads fast. I don’t think the issue is JLD2 only. Has anyone experienced something similar? Is it related to the hardware infrastructure or am I doing something wrong?

df -T says the filesystem is gpfs. I didn’t find anything here or on google that describes such a behaviour.

Clearly, I am not an expert. Thanks for any help!

Could you please clarify the sentence “Usually after loading it slowly once, the second time loads fast”? Do you load one file multiple times?

Sorry, yes exactly: I just load the exact file again with the motivation of benchmarking.

Hard to say what the issue here is, but parallel file systems can have all kinds of issues :slight_smile:

that was not the response I was hoping for :sob:

The document said:
To exploit disk parallelism when reading a large file from a single-threaded application, whenever it can recognize a pattern, GPFS intelligently prefetches data into its buffer pool, ...
Maybe the reason is sometimes data are buffered while sometimes not?

This definitely sounds like the behaviour of buffers.

However if you are using a heirarchical storage management system it could eb old files are being pulled back from a slow tier - maybe tape.
Tme to bring cookies to the lair of your system admins.

1 Like

I really don’t think that tapes are involved here. These are not some old data files produced months/years ago (in fact the cluster didn’t exist a year ago). But maybe 50-100 MB/s hard drives are indeed close to the read speed.

It should be easy to test if the infrastructure is to blame, right? For example, you could simply cat each file and maybe count the bytes:

for file in *.jld2
do
    time cat $file | wc -c
done