Licensing Julia Wrappers

(I apologize if a similar post has been previously made.)

BinaryBuilder.jl and the JuliaBinaryWrappers registry make it incredibly easy to expose 3rd party softwares through julia. The autogenerated .*_jll packages are registered under the MIT license. Suppose the 3rd party software which julia wraps is licensed under the GNU Public License or other.

1. Could a user get in trouble with copyright laws if they commercially use a jll (MIT license) which wraps a 3rd software (GPL)?

2. Suppose a developer wants to write a julia interface for a jll which contains software licensed with GPL. Is it imperative that the interface package being develop is also registered under GPL?

I’m concerned that mishandling licenses as 3rd party software is exposed through julia might allow for julia users to unknowingly put themselves in a copyright violation.

Note: I have little experience in copyright law and I have not found much julia-specific documentation on this topic.

1 Like

They cannot–provided the user complies with the GPL’s requirements for “conveying” the resulting work (generally the work as a whole must be licensed under the GPL if the work is given to someone else in source or binary form). Note that the GPL explicitly does not prohibit commercial use or sale of covered software.

I agree that licensing the jll packages under the same license as the upstream software would be a good thing to do to prevent confusion.

If the interface package is licensed under a license “compatible” with the GPL it’s fine from a legal perspective. That simply means the work taken together (interface package plus GPL-licensed software) is licensed under the GPL.

1 Like