Learning Julia or c++ from python and R backgrounds

I’m fairly new to data science…first I start using R like 2 years ago then recenlty like 5 months ago I start migrating to Python and I did that pretty fast. Then recenlty i stumble into Julia in PyCon video.
Since then I wanted to learn Julia and fully take a total grasp of it but I since into some issues:

1. I’m scholar in geoscience and I look for tools in data science, machine learning, GIS, deep learning, remote sensing analysis…etc.
  2. I don’t know from where to start especially in my field… For example I like to process data in Julia and plot using my existing codes of matplotlib in Python because i don’t want to waste time on learning plotting in Julia (most of my plots are advanced and replicating things in Julia seems a waste because plotting is not mature or there’s less documentation so that wasted time is required to do other stuff or learn other aspects of Julia).
  3. If learning C++ instead of Julia is better and then when the language get popularity I jump the wagon.

So at the end, I need some opinions please if Julia worth it,especially in the fields Im interested in (if yes how to start and fix those points above), or learning c++ to speed up things in python for example is better choice because till now I’m bit confused about Julia and don’t want to waste time around.

You can use matplotlib from Julia, via the PyPlot.jl package, with a 1-to-1 translation of syntax.

1 Like

geosciences is a broad field. If you mean something more close to Geophysics there is not a more advanced tool than GMT, which has a Julia wrapper.

Learning C++ is a life-long endeavor, and not in a good way. It’s just an immensely complex language due to thirty years of incremental-hack language design, rather than any intrinsic complexity. Save yourself a world of pain and learn Julia, or stick with Python for a while and live with its slowness until you’re ready for Julia.

6 Likes