Keeping scientific objectivity and details in benchmark reports

Greetings, Julia programmers and enthusiasts. I am a long-time C/Fortran/MATLAB/Python/R programmer, an old-time Julia enthusiast, and a recent Julia-news and events follower. However, I have no more than a few hundred lines of programming experience in Julia. I stumbled upon this medium post a few days ago, recounting the story of a team of researchers converting an old Fortran code to Julia and achieving 3X speedup. I asked the author of this blog post, Erik Engheim, about this report, but he did not respond. So, I wanted to ask the broader Julia community if they have any information about the circumstances around this report. Erikā€™s report gives me the impression that Julia is, on average, 3X faster than the equivalent Fortran code. If true, this is huge, and we should encourage everyone to port their C/Fortran codebases to Julia. But I suspect much of the speedup has been due to better algorithmic efficiency.

So, to keep scientific objectivity in research decision-making, I need more information about this particular performance report. I would appreciate your help if you can shed more light on this. Example questions of interest: Did the original Fortran authors also try to revise the Fortran code to match the (possibly) new algorithms used in the Julia version for this benchmark? Did the authors use some hardware accelerator to achieve the speedup? (that may seem naive, but I have read refereed research articles that compare the performance of a GPU-enabled Python code to the serial C/Fortran equivalent). Thank you for your help.

Welcome!

Iā€™m not quite sure where or how you got that impression. In that post, @Erik_Engheim included an anecdote from Professor Alan Edelman: