Just downloaded Julia, want to add Plots package, all I get is crashes

Hello,
I just downloaded Julia so I am a total noob.
I click the Julia.exe
then “]” to enter the pkg > REPL
then I write “add Plots” press enter
Since 20 minitues it is frozen in this stage
I have no idea what I could have done wrong, please help

• Windows 10 machine
  • Intel i7 CPU
  Progress [=========================>               ]  56/92
  ✗ FriBidi_jll
  ✗ Bzip2_jll
  ✗ Libgpg_error_jll
  ✗ Xorg_libXau_jll
  ✗ Opus_jll
  ◒ Xorg_libXdmcp_jll
  ✗ Libmount_jll
  ✗ Zstd_jll
  ◑ OpenSSL_jll
  ✗ x265_jll
  ✗ libpng_jll
  ✗ LAME_jll
  ✗ Gettext_jll
  ✗ Wayland_jll
  ✗ Latexify
  ✗ JSON
  ✗ Tables
  ✗ Contour
  ✗ DataStructures
  ✗ FreeType2_jll
  ✗ Libgcrypt_jll
  ✗ Libtiff_jll
  ✗ Glib_jll
  ✗ Wayland_protocols_jll
  ✗ StructArrays
  ✗ SortingAlgorithms
  ✗ Fontconfig_jll
  ✗ libass_jll
  ✗ XSLT_jll
  ✗ GeometryBasics
  ✗ StatsBase

I uninstalled Julia 1.6.1 and switched to 1.4.2 now it works.

you don’t have to wait for the auto-precompile. See if using Plots works in your 1.6.1.

I’ve noticed sometimes the auto-precompile fails because too many parallel julia processes are running

1 Like

You mean I without typing add Plots first, just going straight with using Plots ?

after adding Plots, you can Ctrl-C to kill the auto-precompile, or when you see it has failed/frozen, you can just close the window and re-open Julia then using Plots. The precompilation failure is separate from add – you have the pkg added just fine.

1 Like

Thank you, now I get it. Will try it out.

Unfortunately it didn’t work, produces this error:

_
   _       _ _(_)_     |  Documentation: https://docs.julialang.org
  (_)     | (_) (_)    |
   _ _   _| |_  __ _   |  Type "?" for help, "]?" for Pkg help.
  | | | | | | |/ _` |  |
  | | |_| | | | (_| |  |  Version 1.6.1 (2021-04-23)
 _/ |\__'_|_|_|\__'_|  |  Official https://julialang.org/ release
|__/                   |

julia> using Plots