Julia's loop scope behavior differs from Fortran?

Hi, the oddest thing about Julia is how it behaves in loops (especially For loops).
The following example gives me an error, DataVar: Not Defined, and I cannot imagine why:

function TestLogic(Nloops)
    for i in 1:Nloops
        println("i, Nloops = ",i,", ",Nloops)
        if (i == 1)
            DataVar = 333
        end
        println("i = ", i)
        println("DataVar = ", DataVar)
        DataVar += 10^i
        println("DataVar = ", DataVar)
    end
    return
end

TestLogic(3)

As an old Fortran programmer, I expect the variable DataVar to be defined during the i=1 pass, and incremented each time afterwards. But why does the For loop forget about DataVar completely??

I am aware of the “controversy” about For loops not knowing about variables defined outside of the loop. But here, DataVar is being defined INSIDE the loop! What’s going on??

1 Like

DataVar is only defined for i == 1? It would be better IMHO to do

julia> function TestLogic(Nloops)
           DataVar = 333
               @show i
               @show DataVar
               DataVar += 10^i
               @show DataVar
           end
           nothing
       end
TestLogic (generic function with 1 method)

julia> TestLogic(3)
i = 1
DataVar = 333
DataVar = 343
i = 2
DataVar = 343
DataVar = 443
i = 3
DataVar = 443
DataVar = 1443
4 Likes

The variable scope is each iteration of the for loop, not all iterations of the loop together.

If you want to share the variable for all iterations of the for loop, you could also (as alternative to the suggestion of @briochemc) write

local DataVar # this does not define the type of DataVar yet
    if i == 1
        DataVar = 333
    end
    DataVar += 10^i
    # ...
end

Edit: It is still required to set the 1st value of DataVar, code corrected.

6 Likes