JuliaCon 2020 Birds of a Feather

The “Probabilistic Programming in Julia” BoF proposal was accepted! Here’s the text:

Julia’s PPL community is strong and growing. The various groups already have a strong professional relationship, but a BoF would help to formalize this somewhat, as well as being a good introduction for newcomers to the community.

Possible topics (just a starting point really):

• Standardizing output data structures for samplers
  • Making distributions extensible, and AD- and GPU-friendly
  • Interop across PPLs
  • Connecting with non-PPL libraries (e.g. Flux)
  • What existing (Python, etc) capabilities is Julia PPL missing?
  • What’s next for Julia PPL?
  • What’s next for PPL in general?

As it says, this was intended as a starting point, and I think it’s fine if we want to adjust the scope of the discussion. Also, this is my first time leading one of these, so I’d love any thoughts on strategies for making it as productive as possible. Finally, since JuliaCon is now virtual and tickets are free, I’d guess we might have some people joining us from the broader PPL community.

20 Likes

Related to these ideas, here is another possible suggestion for discussion: implementing MLJ interfaces for the different Julia PPLs.

I know that some work has been done on this, e.g. SossMLJ.jl. It would be great to have interfaces like this for all of the PPLs in Julia, and to get those interfaces to a “ready for use by the average user” state.

@tlienart and @ablaom may be interested in this.

2 Likes

Some relevant discussion here:

3 Likes

So how will this be organized? A zoom call or such?

1 Like

Some thoughts/questions:

• I don’t know how many people we’ll end up with, but with the nature of the conference we should assume it will be larger than the last JuliaCon. In particular, there’s a significant PPL community outside Julia that may be interested.