Julia wrapper for SLEPc library

Hi every one,

I have been using the SLEPc library (with fortran) for several years to solve large eigenvalues problems in parallel on distributed memory architectures.

Since I have started to use julia for a while (and really appreciate it!), I was missing this feature. So I’ve started to write a julia wrapper for this library : SlepcWrap.jl.

SLEPc can be considered as an “extension” to the well-known PETSc library; and heavily rely on it. There are several existing julia wrappers for the PETSc library, for instance : PETSc.jl and GridapPETSc.jl. However none of them were exactly fitting my needs so I have copied some parts of both packages to build my own wrapper : PetscWrap.jl. My concern was to have in hand a parallel and petsc-arch-flexible wrapper. Since I am new to the open-source community, I hope that I didn’t cause any trouble copying some code, I am open to change everything necessary to comply with licence issues.

For now, only the PETSc-SLEPc that I needed are wrapped, but don’t hesitate to contribute and/or post an issue to ask for a new feature.

Below, I have copied an example available in the repo (in the readme / docs) computing the eigenvalues of a 1D - Helmholtz problem (using finite-differences). It can be run using multiple cores : mpirun -n 4 julia helmholtz.jl:

In this example, we use the SLEPc to find the eigenvalues of the following Helmholtz equation:
u'' + \omega^2 u = 0 associated to Dirichlet boundary conditions on the domain [0,1]. Hence
the theoritical eigenvalues are \omega = k \pi with k \in \mathbb{Z}^*; and the associated
eigenvectors are u(x) = \sin(k \pi x).
A centered finite difference scheme is used for the spatial discretization.

The equation is written in matrix form Au = \alpha Bu where \alpha = \omega^2.

In this example, PETSc/SLEPc legacy method names are used. For more fancy names, check the next example.