Julia vs Python's Dask: Known speed comparisons?

Hi all,

I’m new to the Julia community and have arrived in hopes of improving the speed of parallelization tasks I’ve been running with Dask (distributed) in Python. I know there are some Julia packages that are inspired by Dask (e.g., Dagger.jl), but my main question is whether anyone is aware of direct comparisons between the speed of Dask and similar implementations in Julia?

Thanks,
Josh

1 Like

https://diskframe.com/articles/vs-dask-juliadb.html

2 Likes

If you mean the speed of parsing a DAG and generating tasks graphs, that is mostly negligible (compared to the time the tasks take themselves). You can check Dispatcher.jl as well.

1 Like

Dagger works, but its performance is still not optimal in certain common cases. If your operations can safely be run in true parallel with multithreading, then you can use the Dagger master branch and instruct the scheduler to multithread execution of DAG tasks on each worker process. I haven’t benchmarked the performance gains from this yet, but if you have an MWE that’s close to what you’re working on, I could probably use it to tune Dagger’s scheduler to try to beat Dask (assuming Dagger isn’t already faster, which it probably isn’t right now).

5 Likes

Here’s a general idea of what I’m doing (though not a working example). In my specific case, I’m working with a 12x2000x2000 array (~70mb), and constructing a 750x2000x2000 array by looping over the second and third dimensions (embarrassingly parallel in that results at a given index are not dependent on any other index). Using 32 cores, the Dask implementation looks like:

import numpy as np
import dask
from dask.distributed import LocalCluster, Client

def loop_func(my_array):
        # Get the shape
        nb, ni, nj = my_array.shape

new_array = np.full((750, ni, nj), np.nan, dtype=np.float32)

for i in range(ni):
            for j in range(nj):
                if (not (np.isnan(my_array[:, i, j]).any())):