Julia from the perspective of a pythonista

Julia from the perspective of a pythonista

Intruduction

I will start this post with a brief description of myself. I have been writing code in the Python programming language for about 3 years. My main interest is in artificial intelligence and in addition I am also interested in data science. As someone with a background in engineering, I am no stranger to scientific programming and I enjoy it. I am generally interested in programming languages and would like to know more about them.

Recently, after testing popular programming languages such as Java and C, I came across the Julia programming language. At first glance, this language seemed very promising, and the more I read about it, the more I became interested in it. First I want to describe the features of Julia that I like and then I will explain the things that I think prevent the full utilization of this beautiful programming language.

What I Like About Julia

In my opinion, the most attractive feature of Julia is its multiple dispatch idea. This feature makes me think differently about the problem when I write code in Julia, because I have not seen a similar feature in Python.

Another interesting feature of Julia is the ability to specify the type of variables optionally. This feature allows the programmer to specify the type of variables if he likes and in return enjoy high speed execution.

The next feature that makes Julia a promising programming language is its jit compiler. This compiler potentially allows the programmer to expect a fast code if the Julia features are used properly.

And last but not least, the Julia language has an active community around it. Although the size of its community is not as large as older languages, it can be expected to attract more people if Julia continues to address it’s problems.

What I Wish was Different about Julia