Julia for audio live coding?

Hi all, I’m new to Julia and trying to gauge feasibility with regards to audio live coding.
What I would like to do essentially is to use the REPL or the “Run code” function in vscode to create audio callbacks that generate sound using synthesis techniques, that stay running in the background while I write more code.
Upon evaluating new code I would on the fly replace the callback function with another one, with no pause or glitching ( assuming I make sure that the audio stream has no discontinuities etc ).

I was thinking of doing something like using PortAudio.jl and setting up a background thread with an audio streaming function. The streaming function would have a reference to another function inside it and I would update that reference with a new one when I want to change the sound generation.

Replacing the audio gen function with a new one would not need to be instantaneous - I would in fact want to schedule it ahead of time for the next beat or the next bar, which should give time to JIT compile it before replacing the reference.
In practice I would replace the graph in advance and have some kind of fade in to avoid pops and such that the new sound starts at the right time
I might also need some kind some kind of thread synchronisation to do this safely and would probably also want to disable the GC.

Before I set myself on a goose chase, does this all sound doable without major hacking and hair pulling ?
This is all very similar to what gibber does in Javascript ( gibber ) for those who know it, but being able to use all the power of Julia would be incredible.